Blackberry Icing

I had this lemon pound cake just sitting around my house, left over from my baking finals. My mom says to me, “Elise, you know we won’t eat it without icing.” So I made this simple, yet delicious, icing.

rasp3

All you need is powdered sugar, some lemon juice, and Blackberries!

rasp1

I used about 1/2 c. of powdered sugar, a 1/2 tsp of lemon juice, and a bunch of blackberries. I crushed the blackberries to extract their juice. I just kept crushing blackberries until it reached that silky, smooth icing constancy. It will dry hardish. Think sugar cookie icing.

It wasn’t a lot of icing, but it was enough for my cake.

rasp2

“Just a little closer, and It’ll be mine!”

To ice the cake, simply pour the icing on top of the cake. Now be prepared for the icing to run off the cake! I used a cooking cooling rack and a sheet pan as my easy clean up, setup.

rasp4

There it is. Easy as cake!

Leave a Reply

