Homemade Butter

Homemade butter? Why would anyone want to this. Well let me tell you friend. It’s delicious. You also can control exactly what you put into it. It’s also really really really easy. You can even use it to make Compound Butter.

What you need:
-Heavy Cream
-Salt (optional)

What you do:
Put the heavy cream in a mixer and mix. It’s a good idea to cover the bowl because as the liquid and solids begin to separate it might splash.

butter1

butter2

This is what happens when you’re cover pops off.

butter3

Here’s what the butter will look like. Now you need to remove excess liquid from the butter. I saw a lot of recipes with lots of ways to do this, but I thought it would be easiest to put it in a bag and cut a small hole in in. A really small hole! Pin prick sized. If you make too big a hole, the butter will come out.

butter6

Squeeze and squish the butter to get all the liquid out. (You can save this liquid as it is buttermilk)

butter4

And Ta Da! You have homemade butter! Now homemade butter will only store for about 2 weeks. Make sure to wrap it tightly as it absorbs flavors really well.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Butter

  1. foods for the soul

    Growing up, I really wanted a butter churn. My parents wouldn’t buy one for me, so I actually begged my dad to make me one. He never did… Maybe I should just ask for a stand mixer instead! ;]

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Easter! | Sugar High

  3. Pingback: Compound Butter | Sugar High

Leave a Reply

