Homemade Butter Mints

butter2

I saw this recipe on Fearless Homemaker! She has a fabulous blog, and I knew the moment I saw these I was making them.

This recipe makes about 80-100 Mints. I used Vanilla instead of Peppermint Extract, because that’s what I had. 😀

Ingredients
1/2 c. Unsalted Butter, softened
5 c. Powdered Sugar
2 Tbsp Milk
3-4 Drops Peppermint oil or 1 Tsp Peppermint extract
Food Coloring

Procedure
1. In a stand mixer, beat the softened butter for about 1 minute (until it’s light and fluffy. Add the powder sugar, carefully! Add it too fast and you will have a GIANT mess. Mix until it’s dry and crumbly. Don’t forget to scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl.
2. Add the Milk and flavor. Mix until the dough comes together and thickens. It will be very thick, and not at all sticky. But it will still be easy to mold. Think playdough. If you need too adjust the consistency. (Too dry add a drop or two of milk, too wet add a dash more of powdered sugar)
I thought 5 c. of sugar was a lot so I only used 3 1/2 c. but my mints never set up so I recommend doing the whole 5 c. (That’s what I get for trying to make it a little “healthier”)
3. Divide the dough based on the number of colors you want to make. Add about 2 drops to the mix.
4. Lay out parchment paper and dust it with powdered sugar. Break of about 1/4 c. segments and roll into long, skinny logs (1/2 inches thick or so). Slice into 1/2 inch pieces with a knife or pastry cutter. I rolled mine into balls because I was feeling lazy.
5. Let dry/harden for 24-48 hours. Enjoy!

Divided Dough

Divided Dough

I used 1-2 drop of red for the light pink and 4-5 for the darker pink .

Tada!

Tada!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Butter Mints

Leave a Reply

